Login / Register

MotorSport New Zealand Premier Awards

The Jim Clark Trophy, in memory of Jim Clark, Tasman Champion 1965, 1967, 1968 who was killed at Hockenheim, Germany, in April 1968, is awarded annually to the New Zealand driver competing at a National or higher level who shows a sportsmanlike attitude to the sport and fellow competitors and natural ability in “putting up the most meritorious racing performance during the season”.

Award DateRecipient
2021Scott Dixon
2019Scott Dixon
2018Brendon Hartley
2017Shane van Gisbergen
2016Brendon Hartley
2015Brendon Hartley
2014Mitch Evans
2013Mitch Evans
2012Richie Stanaway
2011Mitch Evans
2010Craig Baird, MNZM
2009Craig Baird
2008Jonny Reid
2007John McIntyre
2006Matthew Haliday
2005Andy Booth
2004Scott Dixon
2003Mark Pedersen
2002Fabian Coulthard
2001Scott Dixon
2000Simon Wills
1999Scott Dixon
1998Brett Riley
1997Greg Murphy
1996Andy McElrea
1995Paul Radisich
1994Greg Murphy
1993Greg Murphy
1992Craig Baird
1991Andy McElrea
1990Ken Smith, MBE
1989Wayne Huxford
1988Ken Smith, MBE
1986Trevor Crowe
1984Steve Richards
1983Kevin Ingram
1982David Oxton
1981Jeff Pascoe
1980Mike King
1979Rob Lester
1978Ross Stone
1977Bill Leckie
1976Ken Smith
1975Brett Riley
1974Rex Hart
1973Reg Cook
1972David Oxton
1971Jim Richards
1970Graham McRae

The Rally Founders Trophy recognises the rally driver who performs with distinction during the rally season either nationally, internationally, or both, has a sportsmanlike attitude towards the sport and others, and displays the qualities of a true sporting ambassador.

Award DateRecipient
2021Ben Hunt
2019Ben Hunt
2018Andrew Hawkeswood
2017Hayden Paddon
2016Ben Hunt
2015Richard Mason
2014Hayden Paddon
2013Brian Green
2012Hayden Paddon
2011Hayden Paddon
2010Hayden Paddon
2009Hayden Paddon
2008Hayden Paddon
2007Richard Mason
2006Emma Gilmour
2005Chris West
2004Chris West
2003Richard Mason
2002Deborah Kibble
2001Possum Bourne
2000Stumpy Holmes
1999Geof Argyle
1998Possum Bourne
1997Joe McAndrew
1996Possum Bourne
1995Joe McAndrew
1994Possum Bourne
1993Will Orr
1992Brian Stokes
1991Possum Bourne
1990Neil Allport

The Steel Memorial Trophy was inaugurated in 1983 and acknowledges the efforts of a junior (under 21) driver who competes at least at National level and who displays dedication, skill and a level of professionalism in their driving aiming to progress to the upper echelons of the sport.  Recipients shall show a sportsmanlike attitude to all competitors and officials.

Award DateRecipient
2021Marcus Armstrong
2019Liam Lawson
2018Liam Lawson
2017Liam Lawson
2016Brendon Leitch
2015James Munro
2014James Munro
2013Nick Cassidy
2012Nick Cassidy
2011Mitchell Evans
2010Mitchell Evans
2009Richie Stanaway
2008Earl Bamber
2007Jonathan Lester
2006Shane Van Gisbergen
2005Shane Van Gisbergen
2004Brendon Hartley
2003Jonathan Reid
2002Christina Orr
2001James Cressey
2000Chris Pither
1999LeRoy Stevenson
1998Jason Liefting
1997Scott Dixon
1996Scott Dixon
1995Jason Richards
1994Simon Wills
1993Nigel Wilkinson
1992Ashley Stichbury
1991Chris Maxwell
1990Andrew Neale
1989Mark Pedersen
1988Paul Larsen
1987Craig Baird
1986Debbie Lester
1985Warwick MacLachlan
1984Craig Coleman
1983Richard Lester

Inaugurated in 1997 to recognise the competitor who has demonstrated exceptional levels of sportsmanship, of vehicle presentation, and who embodies the very spirit and values associated with historic and Classic Racing in New Zealand.


The trophy is from a collection of the late Sybil Lupp, kindly made available by the MG Car Club (Wellington Centre).  Sybil Lupp commenced motorsport activities in 1947 and by 1952 held 144 trophies to her credit including a 5th in the inaugural Lady Wigram Trophy Race of 1949.

Award DateRecipient
2021Peter Sturgeon
2019John McKechnie
2018Mike Small
2017John Holmes
2016Brent Rawstron
2015Terry Collier
2014Dale Mathers and Gary Johnstone (jointly)
2013Jim Barclay
2012Brian Dixon
2011Noel Atley
2010David Brown
2009Ken Smith, MBE
2008Davis Abbott
2007Noel Atley
2006Roger Townshend
2005Jenny Steere
2004Geoff Manning
2003Ross Armstrong
2002Keith Cowan
2001Alan Curry
2000Geoffrey Brader
1999David Ingram
1998Peter Grant
1997Ralph Watson

Live Life Faster

Want to get involved?

Get in touch with us

69 Hutt Road, Thorndon
Wellington, New Zealand

Email Us

+64 4 815 8015