Geoff Ridder


This image of Liam Lawson in his Formula First at Taupo is from the 2016 Motorsport Photographer of the Year winning portfolio by Geoff Ridder


Entries for the annual MotorSport New Zealand media awards are now open with this year’s awards again being open to all journalists, photographers and publicists covering MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned events.

The five MotorSport New Zealand media awards are:

2017 Motorsport Feature Journalist or Producer of the Year
(print/online feature, 2500+ words or broadcast/online video or audio feature, more than 3 min)
2017 Motorsport News Journalist or Reporter of the Year
(print/online news article, less than 2500 words or broadcast/online video or audio, less than 3 min)
2017 Motorsport Photographer of the Year
(portfolio of six images)
The 2017 President’s Award for single best photograph
2017 Motorsport PR Communicator of the Year
“The goal of our motorsport media awards is to promote and recognise the coverage of New Zealand motorsport news and imagery in the media,” says MSNZ CEO Brian Budd.

“Over the past year there has been a definite increase in media reporting on motorsport events and competitors, particularly in mainstream media outlets, several of whom have personnel dedicated to covering motorsport.

“Our event organisers and publicists continue to make significant efforts to get motorsport news to the general public via mainstream media, dedicated motorsport media outlets and, of course, social media also plays a big role in sharing news with fans in New Zealand and around the world.

“We look forward to seeing another great array of entries showcasing our sport from grassroots right through to our national championships and high profile events.”

MSNZ also asks media for their nominations for the Motorsport Personality of the Year award which was first presented in 2004 with past winners including multiple Porsche champion Craig Baird, Kiwi racing legend Kenny Smith, long-time motorsport supporter and sponsor Sir Colin Giltrap, commentator Bob McMurray, race series organiser Barry Thomlinson and motor racing star Mike Pero.

Entries for the 2017 MotorSport NZ Media Awards close on 13 April with the winners presented with their awards at the MSNZ awards night at Te Papa, Wellington on 27 May. Entry forms and further information are available by contacting Amanda Tollemache at MSNZ via email: amanda@motorsport.org.nz.

For further information, please contact:
Brian Budd, CEO, MotorSport New Zealand
M: 0276 769 546
T: 04 815 8015
E: brian@motorsport.org.nz