Carrera Cup Australia


Carrera Cup Australia 2017


Two Kiwi drivers, Jaxon Evans and Tim Miles, will take to the grid in a fast-paced Pro field that will grace the Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia opening round next week as the all-Porsche championship lines up for the Adelaide 500.

The 2018 Pro class features a strong blend of former Supercar racers, seasoned Porsche drivers and several young guns eager to assert themselves as 2018 front-runners.

Leading the field into opening practice will be reigning champion David Wall. The Sydneysider had a standout 2017 season, ultimately winning the championship in the final race, and will now become the benchmark driver for his 2018 rivals.

Two drivers transitioning from the Supercars Championship to Carrera Cup in 2018, James Moffat and Dale Wood, come equipped with Porsche one-make experience. Moffat placed third in the 2008 Carrera Cup series before a two-year stint in Super2 and seven years in the top-flight Supercars Championship. Meanwhile, Wood joins Carrera Cup with two Pro-Am starts, performing co-driver duties alongside James Bergmuller in both 2013 and 2014.

Several seasoned Porsche drivers will look to capitalise on their familiarity of the 911 GT3 Cup in order to start the season strong. Nick McBride and Michael Almond both have 32 round starts entering Adelaide, while Jaxon Evans and Dylan O’Keeffe bring one and two seasons’ experience, respectively, and will look to impress against their more experienced competition.

Reigning Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge Australia champion Jordan Love will look to continue his strong form from 2017 after a record-breaking season in the Carrera Cup feeder series, while four Pro drivers – Adam Garwood, Peter Major, Josh Hunt and Cameron Hill – will make their Carrera Cup debut in Adelaide.

In a field of brand new 911 GT3 Cup cars, reigning champion Wall expects tough competition from the season opening race.

“Starting the season in a brand new race car is something all race drivers want to do. We’ve done plenty of testing and to say the car is impressive is an understatement,” said Wall.

“There are many great drivers entered in Carrera Cup this year and we’re certainly prepared for some tough competition from the start of the season in Adelaide.”

Moffat is also looking forward to returning to the series after a decade-long absence. “It’s been 10 years since I last raced in Carrera Cup, so I’m eager to get out there and experience the cars again and see what we can achieve on track throughout the year,” said Moffat

The announcement of the final driver to line up on the Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia grid in Adelaide will be made in the coming days.

2018 Entry List: Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia

#1 David Wall (Pro) PAYCE / Wilson Security

#4 Stephen Grove (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) Grove Motorsport

#5 Greg Taylor (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) Arris/Strongbuild

#6 Tim Miles (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) Miles Advisory Partners

#7 Jaxon Evans (Pro) Morris Finance

#8 Nick McBride (Pro) Porsche Centre Melbourne

#9 Marc Cini (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) Hallmarc

#12 Adam Garwood (Pro) Garwood Motorsport

#13 Sam Shahin (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) The Bend/htfu

#14 Peter Major (Pro) Sonic/Totally 4×4

#15 Josh Hunt (Pro) Volante Rosso Motorsport

#18 James Moffat (Pro) PAYCE/Wilson Security/JBL

#19 Anthony Gilbertson (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) Hallmark Homes

#20 Adrian Flack (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) Agas National

#22 Dean Cook (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) BMF/Pitman Racing

#23 Roger Lago (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) JBS Australia

#35 Indiran Padayachee (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) Hyundai Forklifts Australia

#77 Michael Almond (Pro) Sonic/Bob Jane T Marts

#80 Max Twigg (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) WM Waste Management

#88 Dylan O’Keeffe (Pro) Allstar Equipment Sales

#100 Dale Wood (Pro) Sonic/Polyflor

#111 Cameron Hill (Pro) Southern Star Truck Centre/Anytime Fitness

#131 Graham Williams (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) Sonic

#777 Jordan Love (Pro) Rodney Jane Racing

#808 John Steffensen (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) Crown

#888 TBC