Mark Horsburgh


97 Shane van Gisbergen and 17 Scott McLaughlin, Clipsal 500


Fabian Coulthard has a narrow 19-point lead over Shane van Gisbergen heading into this weekend’s Australian Supercars Championship round at Winton Raceway in Victoria. Coulthard holds the race lap record (1m19.7092s) at what is considered the slowest circuit on the calendar. Drivers and teams will tackle two races at the tight and twisty rural track that features a range of slow corners. Saturday afternoon will feature a 40 lap Superprint while Sunday will feature a 67 lap race.

Coulthard along with team mate Scott McLaughlin’s Shell V-Power Racing Team have showed they are the team to beat this season with three wins and five poles positions between them. While Shane van Gisbergen (Red Bull Holden Racing) also has three wins and two poles positions, his team has lacked a win at Winton since the new generation cars were introduced in 2013.

Just 31 points separates the top five drivers in the championship after the completion of four events.

Drivers Points Table (Top 5)
1/ Fabian Coulthard Shell V-Power Racing Team 802
2/ Shane Van Gisbergen Red Bull Holden Racing Team 783
3/ Jamie Whincup Red Bull Holden Racing Team 780
4/ Scott McLaughlin Shell V-Power Racing Team 771
5/ Chaz Mostert Supercheap Auto Racing 771