The Castrol Trophy

New Zealand Land Speed Record

The Castrol Trophy for the New Zealand Land Speed Record is a one third replica of The Sir Charles Wakefield Trophy which was presented by Castrol's founding chairman for the World Land Speed record in the 1930's.
Current Holder: Owen Evans
Previous Holder: Ray Williams
Owen Evans became the current holder of this record when, on the 2nd June 1996, driving a Porsche 911 GT Le Mans Turbo in Unlimited cc classification on Goudies Road, Reporoa, he obtained the speed of 216.385 mph, taking the record away from Ray Williams who had become the holder of this record on the 16th March 1996, driving a Road Registered Porsche 930 on Goudies Road, Reporoa, to obtain the speed of 196.721 mph in FIA Class B 5000cc to 8000cc.

Diesel Land Speed Record

Category B2, Group 111, Class 9
Maurice O’Reilly driving a Volkswagan Jetta TDi at Goudies Road, Reporoa, on 29/30 July 2006.